Skip to content

Bruntingthorpe Team Circuit Races Round 2 of 4.

Almost 70 riders took to the start line for the second Bruntingthorpe Team Race Night. The gods of weather (if such things exist) smiled on the riders as the predicted rain held off until just after the finish.

Three teams contested Race 1; with four battling it out in Race 2 and two teams of eight in Race 3. Chris Orfeur’s Team Yellow (Chris, Phil Rayner, Josh van Nierop, Cameron Potter, Simon Dixey, Pete Bell and Loz Cox) emerged victorious in Race 1, scoring 208pts. The battle for second couldn’t have been closer; with Ed Grandidge’s Team Purple just pipping James Moore’s Team Red by 174pts to 173pts. Ed was again the individual Race 1 winner; chased home by Phil Rayner and Josh van Nierop. Sprint lap winners (with second place in brackets) were Josh van Nierop (Phil Rayner), Ed Grandidge (Austen Smith) and Pete Bell (Hans van Nierop).

To give future road captains an insight into tactical thinking, one Race 1 captain – when asked about his team’s strategy for the night – said “I’m telling them to go round clockwise as fast as they can.”

In Race 2 it was all change from the previous week, with Dave Reay’s Team Blue (Dave, Stuart Dawkins, Linda Hubbard, Oli McGinnis, Lee James, Andy Dean and Hugh Wilson) scoring 194pts. Second spot went to Doug Tincello’s Team Green on 158, with Dave Wilson’s Team Red II on 144 points and Mark Chapman’s week 1 winners Team Orange on 101 points. Individual race winner was Eleanor Humphries, who outsprinted Dave Reay and Linda Hubbard to the finish line after the peloton just managed to chase down a six-strong break over the closing laps. Sprint lap winners were Kev Willett (Dave Reay), Rhys Thomas (Andy Deeks) and Huw Wilson (Eleanor Humphries).

A much-enlarged field contested Race 3, with a number of riders making their road race debuts or returning to the track after long absences. Stuart Haycox’s Team Blue II  (Stuart, John Welsford, Claire Waterfield, Jamie Kershaw, Ray Taylor, Jonathan Parsons, Alison Chapman and Andy Smith) took the honours on 248pts, ahead of Milly Pinnock’s Team Yellow II on 229pts. The race was won by Jamie Kershaw, who teamed up with Ben Brant to animate the proceedings with a breakaway three laps from home.  After 50+ minutes of racing, Jamie was chased home by Stuart Haycox, with Ben taking third. Individual sprint winners were Stuart Haycox (Ben Brant), Andy Smith (Gary Ashwell) and Milly Pinnock (Jamie Kershaw).

Thanks again to race commissaire, Rowland Summerlin, and all the volunteers who helped make the evening possible.  Also to our partners, Cox Automotive, for making Bruntingthorpe available for such a memorable evening.

Ed Grandidge once again proved himself the man to beat in Race 1


General News, News

%d bloggers like this: