Skip to content

Nev Brooks Memorial Trophy

Competition is underway for the Nev Brooks Memorial Trophy – which is open to all club members taking part in time trials.
Nev was a long-time member of Welland Valley; and the trophy awarded in his memory will go to the most improved rider across the club’s Evening 10 TT series.
Riders of any (and all) speeds, age, gender, equipment (TT or road bike) etc etc are eligible to compete on an equal basis.
To take part in the competition, members will have to ride at least eight of the season’s 15 evening TTs, with the best seven times to count. So there’s still plenty of time to get involved.
But the main thing to remember is that it’s about how much you can improve your times over the season – and not about how fast you are or where you come on the results sheets.
The first round of the series saw Harrison Fay top the leaderboard, followed by Steve Alden, Hans van Nierop, David Reay, Jason Williams, Dom Switzer, Steve Fay, Chris Dainty, Ray Taylor and Huw Wilson making up the top 10.
Round two saw Debbie Ward in first place; followed by Lorna Marlow, Josh van Nierop, Huw Wilson, Steve Alden, Matthew Vallins, Mike Smith, Mitchell James, Julian Middleton and Adrian Killworth.
Round three takes place tomorrow night (Tuesday) with another 10 on the Langtons circuit.
The weather forecast is 16 C, with no rain and a light southerly.
Club chairman Jon Durnin said: “Nev was a stalwart of the club and he would have loved to have taken part in this competition.
“Because it’s based on a handicap system, the trophy really is up for grabs for riders of any age and speed. There’s still plenty of opportunities to get involved; and I would urge all club members to have a go in Nev’s memory.”


General News, News

%d bloggers like this: