Skip to content

Road Race reports 9 and 10 March

LVRC Harold Nelson Memorial RR at Darley Moor.

Bunny won today’s F,G,H Harold Nelson Memorial RR at Darley Moor. Sleety and very windy conditions led to a cagey race, with no one willing to work in breaks. Bunny won sprint from eventual break of 10.

NCRA Round 2 at Southwick, Promoted by Fenland Clarion

The second round of the NCRA series took place on a gusty Southwick course and saw WVCC’s Vic Barnett, Laurence Cox and Fraser Ayears in action. With less than a mile of the twisting 5.8mile circuit receiving a tailwind high gears were not the order of the day!

Forty-four riders, split into five groups took to the road with group four working cohesively and sweeping through the field with about 5 miles of racing remaining. Last to be caught were 4 riders from the second group that included Welland Valley’s Lawrence Cox that had forged ahead late on the first lap.

Just prior to their catch, junior rider Will Truelove from Abergavenny RC rode clear from his group and past the leading 4. He continued his effort into the stiff wind to a magnificent solo win.

The field was splintered behind the lead group in the blustery conditions as a group of 10 riders chased Truelove up the final climb to the line.

Carl Dyson (Leicester Forest) and Gerard Henry (Warwick University) lead the group to the line. Lawrence Cox stuck with the lead group to finish 10th with team mates Frazier Ayers in 13th and Vic Barnet 34th.

Next week’s round 3 is on the Middleton circuit and promoted by F6B2. There are still places available on the BC Events website for those wanting to race.


1st           W. Truelove        Abergavenny RC

2nd          C. Dyason            Leicester Forest

3rd           G. Henry              Warwick University

4th           P. Hardy               Velo Elite

5th           J. Broadley          Warwick University

6th           S. Brierly              45 road Club

7th           D. Tuttle               Velo Elite

8th           M. Patmore        Velo Elite

9th           L. Bettles             Numplumz

10th        L. Cox                    Welland Valley CC                           

%d bloggers like this: