Skip to content

Rockingham Final

The third and final night of team road racing at Rockingham Motor Speedway saw fast and furious action in all three races.

The quickest riders contested Amstel Gold; with team captain Josh Van Nierop again emerging victorious to take an intermediate sprint and the overall victory.

Josh’s team collected 70 points on the night – ahead of James Moore’s team on 55 and Phil Rayner’s on 50. Other sprint winners were Rob Moore and James Moore.

In the second race – branded Il Lombardia – road captain Mark Chapman led his team to victory with 61pts; narrowly ahead of Stuart Dawkin’s team on 59, Andrew Ayears on 47 and David Wilson on 36.

Overall race winner Jon Durnin; with intermediate sprints laps taken by Mark Chapman and his two teammates – Richard Vallance and Stewart Holland.

Special mention to junior rider Kian Trainor, who was always in the thick of the action and finished second overall in a mass sprint for the line.

In the third race of the night – dubbed Liege Bastogne Liege – team captain Charlie Simpson emerged victorious once again, taking an intermediate sprint and the overall race win.

Charlie’s team finished on 70pts, with Lorna Marlow’s on 61 and Sophie Alexander’s on 44. Other intermediate sprint winners were Mac Carter and Jack Bosence.

Over the three week series, Josh Van Nierop emerged a worthy winner – narrowly ahead of Charlie Simpson.

Many thanks to Chris Dainty for coordinating and all the volunteers each week.

Images by Sophie Alexander.

Image may contain: one or more people, bicycle, motorcycle, sky and outdoor

Image may contain: sky and outdoor

Image may contain: 3 people, people smiling, people riding bicycles, bicycle and outdoor

dbarnett738 View All

A muddy marvel

%d bloggers like this: