Skip to content

Duncan Murray Wines Road Race – Womens Team Series –

Duncan Murray Wines Road Race – Womens Team Series –

Jon Miles’ Summary:

Executing a well thought out team plan Molly Patch, Fusion RT Veloperformance, won her first ever road race when she crossed the finishing line of the Welland Valley CC event superbly organised on the Naseby course.

With Ruth Summerford, Fusion RT Veloperformance coming in 2nd place, last years Team Series winners saw their lead in this season long competition wiped away after a lack lustre performance so the trophy changed hands and is now with long time supporter Terry Williamson who is team manager of Fusion RT Veloperformance.

With 14 miles covered a group of 6 riders had got away but this was later to be four riders, Alderney Baker, Team Empella Cyclo, Ruth Summerford, Kerry Middleton, Sigma Sport x Theo and Molly.
Entering Great Oxendon Charmaine Port, Cycle Team on Form and Leah Ball, TW1 Racing crashed but both got back up.

The gap very gradually increased until entering the last lap it was up to 2 minutes with Molly scoring her maiden with to put Fusion RT top of the points table.

Molly later said “This race went so much better than we could have hoped for, the idea behind this Team Series race was to get Ruth and myself in a break, we went for a few decoy attacks,Cycle Team on Form had a few digs but nothing held. It was a case of biding our time. On the 2nd lap I decided to have one big attack and if I got caught then I would work for our sprinter Jenny.

The break worked really well, we knew our team mates back in the bunch would have it all covered. Then Ruth bridged across so we had a good group. Then with about a lap to go I went solo, looked around and saw Ruth coming across. We had a great day out. To get 1st and 2nd could not be better, it was a great race on a wicked circuit.

Taking the Team Series away from Cycle Team on Form was in our sights, they have a great team. With the Team Time Trial now cancelled we knew this was the last time we could have a crack at the title”.
Jon Miles

Duncan Murray Wines Road-Race

Molly Patch (Fusion RT) and Richard Gildea (Didcot Phoenix CC) both showed that they were the fastest in a sprint finish in the Duncan Murray Wines Road Race.

The men’s and women’s races were both staged at the same time on the Naseby circuit, Northamptonshire.
Each lap was just over 13 rolling miles.

The women’s race over 50 miles also formed part of the Women’s Team Series, there was plenty of early attacks before a break of 5 riders formed on lap 2.
The 5 riders went onto contest the finish on the fourth ascent of Naseby Hill, it was Molly who went onto take the victory ahead of teammate Ruth Summerford.
The leading group had a 3-minute advantage over the pack.

The men’s race followed a similar pattern with attacks going from the gun, it was Richard Gildea who crossed the line first ahead of Jamie Caldwell ( Portsmouth North End) and Andrew Taylor (VC Norwich).

Molly Patch – ‘So great to get my arms in the air at #womensteamseries today!!
Made even better by a @FusionRT 1-2’

Duncan Murray ‘An exciting morning of racing. Great crowds on top of the Naseby Alp!!’

Many thanks to Duncan Murray Wines – Duncan & Megan for their loyal support, to all the officials and volunteers for making this morning event happen.


Duncan Murray Wines Road Races – Sunday 22 July 2018
HQ: Naseby, Northants
Promoted by: Welland Valley Cycling Club

Women’s Team Series Race (E/1/2/3) – 50 miles – 52 starters

1. Molly Patch Fusion RT Veloperfomance
2 Ruth Somerford Fusion RT Veloperformance
3 Francesca Cutts CC London
4 Kerry Middleton Sigma Sport x Theo
5 Alderney Baker Team Empella Cyclo
6 Jessica Finney Cycle Team on Form
7 Mary Wilkinson Ellmore Digital
8 Hannah Larbelastier Boompods EDCO NRG
9 Rebecca Johnson Fusion RT Veloperformance
10 Georgina Bullard Primal Junior
11 Rosamund Bradbury Sigma Sport x Theo
12 April Tacey Team 22
13 Leah Dixon Cycle Team on Form
14 Jessica Carridge Team IOM
15 Anna Marie Hughes Norwood Paragon

Men’s Regional A Race (2/3/4) – 50 miles – 57 starters
1. Richard Gildea Didcot Phoenix CC
2. Jamie Caldwell Portsmouth North End CC
3. Andrew Taylor VC Norwich
4. Matthew Humpage Trek Bicycle Club
5. Timothy Allen Spirit Tifosi Racing Team
6. Scott Probert Morvelo Basso RT
7. Josh Copley TBW23 Stuart Hall Gett Taxi
8. Toby Barnes Lichfield City CC
9. Joseph West RST
10. Timothy Jones University of Nottingham SCC
11. Elliot Haigh Flamme Rouge Cycling Team
12. James Woodfield Wellingborough Cycles
13. James Dent St Neots CC
14. Leon O’Rourke Shutt Ridley RT
15. Martin Galpin Icknield Road Club

Images by Simon F Blackwell @sfblackwell – Over 100 images

Men’s result.

No automatic alt text available.

Molly Patch celebrates a fine victory.

Image may contain: 4 people, child, outdoor and nature


News, Results

dbarnett738 View All

A muddy marvel

%d bloggers like this: