Skip to content

Snowy madness at Misterton

Arctic conditions greeted over 230 competitors who battled the elements in the final round of the Leicestershire Cyclo-cross League, promoted by Welland Valley CC.

The round also incorporated the inaugural County Championships.

The popular cross venue at Misterton Hall was an ideal location as the riders swooped in and out of the trees, and powered over snowy fields.

As the days racing progressed, the snow and mud made the going very tough.
There were numerous outstanding performances by all of the Welland Valley muddy marvels.

All of the riders deserve praise for their application and commitment to secure a high placing.

In the Under 9’s Andrew Dethridge finished 5th boy and Flori Switzer 4th girl.

Under 12’s was an intense race with lots of personal pride. Jamie Kershaw pipped teammate Luke Jones to the County title. In the race Jamie was 11th and Luke 13th overall.

Mia Hopkins finished 2nd in the championship and 3rd in the race. Hannah Henderson was 7th and Brooke Traynor 8th.

The youth race was incredibly tough as the snow started to plummet down. Louis Jakobson was second county rider, 4th overall in the under 16’s. He was supported by Will Perkins and Ben Brant in 12th and 13th.

In the under 14’s Dominic Switzer rode well to finish 5th, Kian Traynor 8th, Dan Henderson 11th, Huw Wilson 12th and Michael Carter 13th.

Vic Barnett enjoyed a positive ride winning the Over 70’s by finishing a strong 23rd in the Over 50’s. Kevin Mills 33rd and Marc Henderson 39th slipped and skidded to produce great results.

Nic Traynor secured a county silver and 4th veteran overall and showed great skills to stay upright on two wheels.

Fraser Ayears secured 2nd in the race but a county title, Isaac Hudson also secured a county medal, a bronze medal and 27th overall.

Senior riders had the worst of the conditions. Josh van Nierop finished 8th, a strong ride. Tim Crone finished 17th as the snow and mud started to clog shoes and bikes. Hans van Nierop was in the veterans race, James Moore was the first club member to finish in 6th place, James Simons-Boswell 12th, Adrian Read 19th, Nik Kershaw 28th, Adrian Killworth 32nd, Steve Coulam 35th and David Wilson 38th. By the end of the senior and veteran riders, all of the riders were covered in a film of snow and mud.

Many thanks to all the volunteers, officials and first aid, I greatly appreciate your support on a very difficult day.

Big thank you to Mrs Craven for allowing us onto the estate.

Full results here


%d bloggers like this: