Skip to content

Rocky Races – Week One

Nine teams lined up on the starting grid for the first night of team road racing at Rockingham Motor Speedway.

The teams raced for 40 minutes, plus three laps; and each race within a race featured three sprint laps for additional team and individual points.

In the A Race, the team captained by Fraser Ayears took the honours with 70pts, followed by James Simons-Boswell’s team on 55pts and Rob Moore’s on 50pts.

Sprint lap winners were Mark Fiddy, Fraser Ayears and Josh Van Nierop. Josh also took the overall race victory.

The B race saw 17 riders competing in four teams. David Wilson’s team finished on 67pts, followed by Julian Middleton’s on 64pts, Andrew Bladon’s on 55pts and Matt Vallins’ on 50pts.

Nick Horder was the race winner, with sprint laps taken by Julian Middleton, Harrison Fay and David Wilson.

In the C race, Lorna Marlow captained her side to victory with 88pts over Charlie Simpson’s 74pts. Junior Huw Wilson was the race winner. Huw also took a sprint lap, along with fellow juniors Mac Carter and Ben Brant.

In the Rockingham individual competition, which is fought-out over all three events in August, Josh Van Nierop and Hugh Wilson are on 30pts, with Ben Brant, Fraser Ayears and Julian Middleton on 27pts

Teams are outlined below (along with points scored on the night – inc sprint bonuses). Pls note, there was a spin of the coin to decide which team had a fifth rider in the B race.

Also, thanks to Andrew, George (+1), Rowland and Angela for all their efforts on the night.

Finally, anyone wishing to race next week must email Chris Dainty ( by noon on Monday if they have not already done so.

A Race

Team 1 (Orange):

Rob Moore (Capt) 20pts, Mark Chapman 14, Nik Kershaw 16

Team 2 (Blue):

James Simons-Boswell (Capt) 17, Mark Fiddy 23, Jason Williams 15

Team 3 (Green):

Fraser Ayears (Capt) 27, Josh van Nierop 30, Charlie Holton 13

B Race

Team 1 (Purple):

Matt Vallins (Capt) 12, Tim Crone 5, Simon Baigent 8, Nick Horder 25.

Team 2 (Yellow):

David Wilson (Capt) 22, Richard Vallance 16, Stewart Holland 14, David Reay 15.

Team 3 (Blue):

Andrew Bladon (Capt) 7, Vic Barnett 20, Andrew Ayears 10, Stuart Dawkins 18.

Team 4 (Orange):

Julian Middleton (Capt) 27, Chris Dainty 13, Dave Bayliss 6, Harrison Fay 9, Mark McCarthy 9.

C Race

Team 1 (Purple):

Charlie Simpson (Capt) 18, Jane Evans 20, Claire Moore 14, Mac Carter 22.

Team 2 (Blue):

Lorna Marlow (Capt) 15, Sophie Alexander 16, Ben Brant 27, Huw Wilson 30.



dbarnett738 View All

A muddy marvel

%d bloggers like this: