Skip to content

Club Championship Round 5: Rayner and Welsford take cup wins


20 riders tackled the Kibworth-Corby 25 Mile TT course to contest the fifth round of the Club Championship and the prestigious Armstrong and Hunter Cups.

Facing a headwind on the last leg Phil Rayner took the win, and the Armstrong Cup with time of 58:57 followed by Tim Smith with 59:21, and Jon Durnin in third with 1:01:08.

John Welsford took the handicapped Hunter Cup with a time of 54:52, followed by Adrian Killworth with 55:57.

Linda Hubbard was the fastest lady (1:07:35), with Mark Chapman fastest road bike rider.

Thanks to the Rob Johnson, Lorna Marlow, Mitch James, Chris Mumford, Simon Baigent and Chris Parr or marshalling, George Barnett and Peter Riley for timekeeping, with Lucy Smith serving much needed tea and cakes.

Results are available here – thanks again to Mike Ives.  DC Research leagues have been updated, and the road bike tables will be updated later this week.



%d bloggers like this: