Club Member Log in

Upcoming Events

Ride for Rosemary

Misterton Hall, near Lutterworth

35mile, 23mile or 11mile family route

Saturday 4th October



 Club Championship Round 11

Hill Climb

Sunday October 5th

2 stages, Drayton and Medbourne

HQ - Nevill Holt

10:00am start


Watt Bike Sessions

Thursdays 7.30pm starting 9th October-

booking essential see news for details



 Whizz Kids

Skills Session

  Saturday 11th October  

 Welland Park, Market Harborough

  Start 14:00


Ladies Ride

Sunday October 19th

The Square, Market Harborough

9:00am roll out 

Our Sponsors

dmw logo

fc logo



Welland Valley Cycling Club

Want to ride ?

So the nights are drawing, but you might still fancy riding your bike... A good mid week diet of structured activity could be:

Mallory Park - £2.50 Is all it costs to cycle the iconic Mallory Park Circuit. On Monday Family Nights under 10’s ride for free. During the summer we open from 6pm until 8.30pm Monday, Wednesday and Friday

Off-road skills - Wednesday - 7:00pm till 8:00pm fun, fast and skillage. Just roll up and stuck in. Over 40 riders have been turning up each week.

WATT Bikes Lutterworth - Watt-bike sessions will begin at the Watt Bike Studio, Lutterworth Cycle Centre every Thursday at 7.30pm starting 9th October 2014.
The sessions will be led by Kath Akoslovski British Cycling Coach & Advanced Wattbike Trainer & Welland Valley CC member. The sessions will be varied including endurance, speed, hill work, racing and much more.
Riders will be charged £5 per session but this will be reduced to £2.50 per session for those in full time education.
To book a place for a Thursday evening riders should either text Kath on 07803 901223 or e mail her at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by Wednesday lunchtime.
Priority will be given to club members but will be open to other riders if all the 15 places aren’t filled by Wednesday lunchtimes.

For the Youth A & B riders there is the British Cycling East Midlands Cluster Club sessions at Prestwold. The first session is booked in for Thursday 23rd October 7-9pm at Prestwold cycle circuit & is scheduled to run every week through the winter months, that’s 20 x 2hrs of extra top coaching & hard riding our youngsters could be getting before 2015 season really kicks off – what a head start!!

Plenty to do :O)

What a weekend...

Welland Valley members enjoyed the excellent weather conditions over the weekend to cycle in time-trials, bunch racing, a wee bit of mtb action, cyclo-cross and the odd group ride.
Michael Burke, James Moore and guest for the weekend Joel Lewis contested the 4 stage  Fin del Verano en Woolsthorpe in Lincolnshire over two days. With a high quality field taking to the start line ...the racing was going to be tough. The terrain in Lincolnshire with its short sharp climbs was going to make strongest riders legs hurt. The first stage was an 8km team-time trial, the trio recorded the 5th fastest time. After a quick lunch stage two was a 65km blast into the Vale of Belvior, Michael grabbed 5th after escaping in a group of seven, James finished 10th at the head of the bunch sprint. Stage 3 was an 93km epic which suited the aggressive style of racing Burke thrives on. With six ascents of the Stathern climb once again the strongest would shine. After 2hrs 20 minutes Michael exploded away from his fellow competitors to secure a well-deserved victory. James finished just outside the top 10. Stage 4 was a massive explosion of power as the riders faced a 0.6km hill climb, a real lung buster! Burke recorded the 5th fastest time and James close behind in 7th. After 4 stages and 180kms racing Michael finished 5th Overall. With final positions still to be confirmed, James was hoping to be declared inside the top 10.

On Saturday afternoon Phil Rayner, Simon Ward, Linda & Jake Hubbard contested the Ratae RC 25 mile time-trial on a course near Six Hills / Widmerpool. Phil stormed round the course to record the second fastest time of 53:52, Jake recorded 1:00:58, Linda finished 2nd Lady with 1:06:04 and Simon Ward 1:07:10. Across in Northamptonshire a number of members were supporting the Frank & Joy Shepherd 10 mile TT based on a circuit near Old. Fastest individual club member was Hans van Nierop 24:20, Matt Plews 24:24, Josh van Nierop 26:12 (fastest U16). There was two 2-ups, Loz Cox and Richard Mortimer worked well together as an experienced duo to record 24:23, Grant Warwick and John Davidson also knitted well to record 30:58.

In Nottinghamshire Amy Garner was first u16 girl in the latest round of the Notts and Derby Cyclo-cross league on Saturday . The event was held at Markeaton Park, Derby. James Garratt finished 2nd Junior in the Markeaton event before travelling to the NEC near Birmingham to contest a high event featuring National Champion Ian Field. The Cycle Show event featured the race passing through the exhibition halls. James put up a great effort in such excellent company.
North Yorkshire was the next location the cycling club as it had representation with 3 intrepid veterans contesting the worlds toughest cyclo-cross ‘the three peaks’. Adrian Killworth, Andrew Wood and Dean Barnett conquered Ingleborough, Whernside and Pen-y-ghent (over 5000ft of climbing). The 38 mile epic course was contested by over 600 like-minded competitors. Dean covered the distance in 3hrs 58minutes after suffering a puncture and a heavy fall on Ingleborough smashing his helmet. Adrian was on track for a massive improvement on his previous best time until he also punctured in the final 5 miles to cross the finish line in 4hrs 39minutes. Andrew suffered 3 punctures during the event and ended up completing the distance on a friends bike to stop the clock in 4hrs 34minutes. All three enjoyed the excellent weather conditions.

The final round of the Mud, sweat and gears MTB race was staged at Langdon Hills, Essex. Kirsty Morris finished 4th in Youth/Juvenile girls event, the first time this season she has not graced the podium. Kirsty had the consolation of finishing 3rd Overall. Louis Jakobson left nothing to chance in the final round to blast round the Under 12’s course to secure an excellent victory, team mate Josh Morris continues to show great promise with an excellent 25th place.
As you can see lots of riders travelling far and wide representing the Harborough based club. Closer to home the Welland Valley was full of cyclist enjoying a potter through the beautiful Leicestershire / Northamptonshire countryside.
  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg
  • 3.jpg
  • 4.jpg
  • 5.jpg