Club Member Log in

Upcoming Events

New Club Kit 2015 

Fitting Night

Tuesday 9th December 2014

– 7.30pm –

Coach and Horses Public House



email logo2-60x54 

 Whizz Kids

Indoor Scooter Party and Presentation

  Saturday 13th December  

Robert Smythe Academy, Burnmill Rd Market Harborough

  Start 14:00


Weekend Activities 

Saturday - Chain-gang - 10:00am

Sunday - Clubrun - 9:30am

Check the club forum for details 


 Watt Bike Sessions

Thursdays 7.30pm starting 9th October-

booking by 8:00pm Tuesday Evening essential.

See News Item Here for full details



Our Sponsors

dmw logo

fc logo



Welland Valley Cycling Club

New Club Kit 2015

Fitting Night Info - please read
The new club kit for the 2015 season onwards is being finalised by the manufacturer and will be unveiled to all club members very soon, keep watching the website / facebook.
We will be holding a fitting night on Tuesday 9th December for all club members – it is of the utmost importance for you to attend in order to get fitted and your order in for the new club kit.So make sure to come along to the fitting night to try on the test size garments and make your order.

Tuesday 9th December 2014 – 7.30pm – Coach and Horses Public House, Lubenham 

On the night there will be demo kit for you to try on – for hygiene reasons please wear light shorts when trying on bib shorts etc.We will be publishing on the website in the next few days, a pricelist of the most commonly ordered items so you will have an idea of the cost before arriving to fitting.

On the night after fitting, you will fill out a form for what you want, size and quantity. More information to follow on payments

The club values your support and we hope all members will pull together to make this kit transition as seamless as possible.– other local clubs have successfully managed this transition and its fantastic to see all the club members supporting the move, and moving to the new kit without any problems – we hope our club can do the same.

So please everyone – support the club and together we will looking fast and fit in 2015 on wards!

(Fancy buying some old kit? On the same evening you can buy some retro - 90's to 00's old kit at drastically reduced prices. The kit will be magic for the 'pain chamber' or commuting or training (under your new kit) or parading around the home - DON'T MISS A BARGIN)

Splish, splash, splat..

Another wet weekend as the Cyclo-Cross boys and girls continue to battle in various leagues around the country.  

James Garratt rode a near perfect race to win Round 7 of the Central League at Harlington School, Bedford. With very little hard ground the race was run in gloppy conditions. The heavier the rain fell the more the mud turned to liquid. Mid race James misjudged a corner to see him slide down the banking on his belly…a ‘Klinsmann’.   

Returning back to action after a mid-season break enforced by injury, was Vic Barnett who contested the Over 50’s.

Vic rode a measured race using the event as a good quality training event to finish 8th.

Andrew Ayears and Jake Jakobson both endured the glop. Jake finished in the top 20 and Andrew was just outside the top 30 veterans.

Louis Jakobson and Fraser Ayears loved the muddy experience in the youth race, both youngsters show great promise and coped well with the difficult conditions. Louis was 4th , Fraser produced his best ride of the season after suffering an early mechanical problem to respond well and finish just outside the top 20.

Markeaton Park in Derby hosted for round 10 of the Notts & Derby Cross League. Twins Jake and Katie Hubbard experienced a strength sapping course as difficult muddy conditions meant that riders had to cope with constantly clogging bikes.

Katie ran most of the difficult sections towards the end of the 50 minute race. Jake lost a few places compared to previous weeks finishing 28th.

Katie finished 9th with her bike weighing double the weight than when she started.  

Top Barn near Gloucester was the venue for round 10 of the West Midlands Cyclo Cross league. The rain may have stopped by the time the racing started but it was very muddy course the riders had to contend with. Despite this there were some excellent results across all the categories.


In the Under 10s category 3 WVCC riders made the the top 10 with Dom Switzer just off a podium position in 4th place and Fay Garner 1 second behind in 5th but first girl and almost 2 minutes clear of her nearest rival. Rudy Killworth had his best result of the season with an excellent 7th despite being one of the youngest riders and racing on the smaller 24 inch wheels.


The Under 12s saw Kian Traynor manage 17th place in high quality field with Thomas Danvers in 24th. Eleanor Partridge continues to improve with a fantastic 4th place, just 8 seconds from a podium place.


The youth race saw two excellent result with Max Sillifant in 10th and Josh Van Nierop in 14th. In the ladies event Nicola Traynor was 2nd in her category finding the course more the her liking than the previous weeks more technically demanding offering. 


In the vets races Graham Atkins fine form continues with a 4th and Adrian Killworth was 20th in their age categories. Scott Rose made a welcome return to racing finishing 9th.


There are two more West Midlands league races this season, the next being at Mallory Park in two weeks followed by the Midland Championships the next day in Lincolnshire.